MEETINGS

2017 GENERAL MEETING PROGRAMS

(All meetings in Upper Carriage House)

Saturday, Jan 14—1 pm–Old Wives and Farmer’s Tales with Pat Sayers (Garden Speaker and Lily hybridizer)

Saturday, Feb 11—1 pm–The Wonderful World of Bees with Chris Kelly (Entomologist and Bee Keeper)

Saturday, March 11—1 pm–Flowering Trees with  Dr. Tamson Yeh  from Cornell

Wednesday, April 12—6:30 pm–New and upcoming Plants with Tom Stemmler from Daisy Gardens (All plants will be raffled)

CLICK HERE FOR  TOM’S TOP TEN ANNUALS FOR LONG ISLAND

Wednesday, May 10—6:30 pm–James Sotillo from Ecological Landscaping Management in Smithtown speaks on growing healthier lawns and gardens without the use of herbicides, pesticides and nitrogen laden fertilizers. He encourages healthy soils. James does the plantings at Rockefeller plaza including the Christmas tree. He has also done the initial plantings of many of the city parks.

Wednesday, June 14—6:30 pm–Members and their Guests Only Spring Party (NOTE DATE CHANGE)

Wednesday, July 12—6:30 pm–Members and their Guests Only Director’s Arboretum Gardens Tour with Nelson Sterner

Aug 16–6:30 pm Members and their Guests Only An evening in the Dahlia Garden (meet at the Dahlia Garden)

Wednesday, Sept 13—6:30 pm–What to do with all those extra tomatoes and zucchinis? Chef Rob Scot will be whipping up some tasty dishes for us to sample.  Members only. No guests. Limited seating.

Wednesday, Oct 11—6:30 pm–Round Table and Arboretum update with Director Nelson Sterner

Wednesday, Nov 8—6:30 pm– Holiday Design and Raffle

CLICK HERE FOR FULL SCHEDULE 

~~~~~~

Also we will be charging non members $5 for all general meetings.

If the Main Gates are not open, use the second set of gates that is marked for Employees Only (a short distance east from the Main Gate).   Bear right and then left to get onto the main Arboretum road.  Pass alongside the Entrance Booth to parking lot on the right.

 ~~~~~~~

Visitors since January 1, 2017